B. E. A. Cup

Division 5 of the Leinster Leagues. Cup presented by British European Airways on November 22, 1972.

“The British European Airways perpetual chess challenge cup was presented to the Leinster Chess Union at a reception in the Collegians’ clubrooms, Donnybrook, last night, by Mr. James Dunne, chief sales representative of B.E.A.. … The BEA Cup has an entry of 26 teams and play in this contest will continue until March.” Irish Times (Thursday) November 23, 1972, p. 5.

Roll of Honour:
N.B. years refer to the close of each season, e.g., “1973″ represents the 1972-73 season.

1973   Ierne
1974   Phibsboro
1975   Cavan
1976   Elm Mount
1977   Clontarf
1978   Dublin County Council
1979   Phibsboro
1980   Skerries
1981   Finglas
1982   Dublin
1983   Kilkenny
1984   St. James
1985   Kilkenny
1986   Wicklow
1987   Phibsboro
1988   Crumlin
1989   Tallaght
1990   Phibsboro
1991   Rathfarnham
1992   Lucan (?)

1994   Athlone

1996   Fairview
1997   Guinness
1998   Bray

2000   U.C.D.

2002   Jobstown, Drogheda

2004   Castle
2005   St. Benildus
2006   Longford
2007   Royal Lopez
2008   Dublin University
2009   Dublin
2010   Celbridge
2011   Cavan
2012   Ballinasloe (A)
2013   Phibsboro
2014   Round Tower
2015   Gonzaga
2016   Enniscorthy

Last updated December 11, 2016.

4 Responses to B. E. A. Cup

  1. Pingback: B. E. A. Cup | IRLchess

  2. Sean Coffey says:

    The initial post took its list of winners from the inscriptions on the cup, which I jotted down at the final day of the Leinster Leagues this year. But there are several gaps where no winner is listed. David McAlister has sent in details of three more, now added above: 1980 (Skerries), 2000 (U.C.D.), and 2002 (Jobstown & Drogheda).

  3. Gerard MacElligott says:

    I was on the BEA 1976 (Elm Mount) winning team. That year there were 50 teams competing in that division. They were split into 5 groups of 10. The top two teams from each group then played another round robin. So there were 18 rounds. The last round was played some time in June. I remember playing a match in June the night before my Leaving Cert Geography exam. Although the Leaving Cert was important – winning the BEA was more so 🙂

    • Denis Dempsey says:

      I think that there were only 17 rounds as the teams which had already played each other did not have to do so again. Their scores from the initial rounds were carried forward to the 2nd round robin.

      I was Leagues Controller at the time and I remember that there was a delay caused by Dalkey and Dundrum Clubs both fighting it out for a place in the 2nd round robin. They were on the same points and kept drawing in playoffs. There were no LCU rules to cover this situation at the time. Eventually after several draws I imposed a rule and I think that Dundrum qualified.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *