Branagan Cup final 2014: Elm Mount 3½ – 2½ Gonzaga

Congratulations to Elm Mount (and commiserations to Gonzaga) on winning the Branagan Cup for the fourth year in succession (and the fourth year in all).

Elm Mount team with Branagan Cup, July 2014

From Gerry MacElligott’s Facebook page (and with permission, for which thanks) we have a picture of the winning team, with cup.

Back row, l. to r.: Matthias Rahneberg, Zygis Jakubauskas, David Fitzsimons.
Front row, l. to r.: Liam Porter, Gerard MacElligott, Ciarán Quinn, Oliver Dunne.
(I think—corrections welcome.)

[Update, August 30, 2014: Not pictured: Bernard Boyle, Adam Spirek.]

The scorecard for the final (provided by Oliver Dunne, for which thanks also) is:

Elm Mount Gonzaga
D. Fitzsimons 0 – 1 S. Collins
Z. Jakubauskas ½ – ½ K. Delaney
C. Quinn 0 – 1 C. O’Donnell
M. Rahneberg 1 – 0 D. Murray
G. MacElligott 1 – 0 P. J. Hayes
O. Dunne 1 – 0 J. McMorrow
3½ – 2½

Board 6 was the last to finish. Elm Mount needed a win, as a draw would see Gonzaga win on tie-break (board count?). When John McMorrow resigned, he had 9 seconds on the clock to Oliver’s 2 min., 38 seconds. Dramatic stuff!

Games will be added if and when they become available.

This entry was posted in Branagan Cups, Photos, Tournaments. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Branagan Cup final 2014: Elm Mount 3½ – 2½ Gonzaga

  1. I’ve taken this opportunity to add some further material about earlier editions to the Branagan Cup results page at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *