Irish championship players

John O’Hanlon’s long-standing record of nine Irish championship wins has been equalled by Stephen Brady, but O’Hanlon still holds one record: he competed in 29 championships.

Even here his record is in some danger, with many currently active players nipping at his heels. The next highest numbers are: Eamon Keogh (28), Colm Daly (27), Anthony Fox and Philip Short (25), Gerard O’Connell (24), and Stephen Brady (23).

For these and other facts, see the full list, and the same in alphabetical order.

I haven’t fully checked other records, such as longest span between first and last championships or most consecutive championships played. For the first, I think Eamon Keogh holds the record (54 years: 1962 to 2016), followed by J. A. “Porterfield” Rynd (48 years: 1865 to 1913) and O’Hanlon (43 years: 1913 to 1956). The second is complicated by the fact that in many early years no championship was held; if we limit it to number of consecutive years in which a player competed in an Irish championship, then O’Hanlon has 13 (1928 to 1940), equalled by John B. Reid, Irish champion in 1961 and 1962 (1951 to 1963), both exceeded by Anthony Fox’s 17 (1995 to 2011).

The list is based on the Irish Championships page at David McAlister’s Irish Chess History website, which contains player lists for almost all championships, making it possible to run scripts to extract number of championships played.

This entry was posted in Irish championships, Players. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Irish championship players

  1. Colm says:

    I thought for sure that I had played more than anyone else but it seems I was mistaken. I will equal Eamon Keogh with 28 later this month and have to hold off on my full retirement from playing chess until I make it to 30 and overtake the record of 29. As for Stephen winning 9, well I would think it could be argued that it was really 8 as the nonsense of having come joint 3rd in the tournament and getting a title based on the very artificial scenario of highest placed Irish player is a joke. At
    least when Baburin won in the only ever time he played he won the tournament itself jointly with an Israeli GM with an impressive score of 8 points. Amusingly that was the last time he beat me, so nearly ten years later and many games since (all draws , many hard fought) it will be interesting to see Alex compete this year in his first real Irish Championships.

  2. Martin Crichton says:

    Very impressive Sean
    Keep up the good work!

  3. Martin Crichton says:

    Looks like Philip Short has entered the record books again….first won the Irish Championship in 1981 and now again in 2017 at the age of 57, a span of 36 years between his first title and his latest title.

  4. Martin Crichton says:

    McMahon, D. 9 (1973, 1990, 1992, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2011, 2014)

    Probably 2 different D . McMahons here
    Daire McMahon born 1963 would have been 9 or 10 years old in 1973 so possibly Daire would have played in 8 Irish Championships? There may be other anomalies in the list but excellent point of reference

  5. Christy archer says:

    A champion is one who surpasses ALL others. A joint champion is not a champion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *